Campus Energy Task Force

The Campus Energy Task Force has been the catalyst for an unprecedented partnership between students, faculty, and staff of the Institute to develop a robust campus energy program.

Task Force members including faculty from the five academic schools, representatives from key administrative offices, and both undergraduate and graduate students collaborate to research and develop strategies to advance sustainable energy practices and increase MIT’s energy efficiency. The task force has helped the entire campus community to “walk the talk” on energy and sustainability. The Campus Energy Task Force employs and considers a variety of strategies and focal areas to achieve its campus energy goals:

  • Near-Term Measures:  measures that can be taken in the next few years in existing building and infrastructure and incentives and funding mechanisms to encourage improvements
  • New Construction: metrics and standards for buildings using best and sustainable practices
  • Long-Range Campus-Wide Plan: a major multidisciplinary study of campus energy production and use producing an MIT energy roadmap for the next 20 years, which includes technology options as well as potential economic, institutional, and motivational issues
  • Next-generation research: major, integrated research projects on components and designs for next-generation buildings and energy systems and testing for innovative approaches in a new, flexible research building on campus
  • Education: collaboration with the MITEI Education Task Force to increase campus energy-related undergraduate research opportunities, encourage campus energy-related class projects, and assist with student-led energy groups and activities
  • Outreach: campus energy website management and development of other outreach efforts to inform, excite, and engage the community in campus energy activities including sharing guidelines and best practices
  • Behavior Change: opportunities for individuals and groups to improve campus energy performance through education, awareness, and outreach

Campus Energy Task Force Members


  • Leon R. Glicksman, Professor of Building Technology and Mechanical Engineering
  • Israel Ruiz, Executive Vice President & Treasurer


  • Vladimir Bulovic, Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
  • Peter Fisher, Professor of Physics
  • Rae Langton, Professor of Philosophy
  • Leslie K. Norford, Professor of Architecture
  • John Sterman, Jay Forrester Professor of Management
  • Christopher P. Zegras, Assistant Professor of Urban Studies and Planning

Administration & Research Staff

  • Richard Amster, Director, Facilities, Campus Planning, Engineering & Construction
  • Peter L. Cooper, Manager of Sustainability Engineering and Utility Planning, Department of Facilities
  • John Difava, Director, Facilities Operations and Security
  • Harvey Michaels, Research Scientist, Department of Urban Studies and Planning
  • Martin Schmidt, Associate Provost
  • Amanda Graham, Director, MITEI Energy Education Office
  • Sherwin Greenblatt, Director, Venture Mentoring Services, Office of the Provost
  • Walter E. Henry, Director, Systems Engineering Group, Department of Facilities
  • Jason J. Jay, Lecturer, Sloan School of Management
  • Steven M. Lanou, Deputy Director, Sustainability Program, Environmental Programs Office
  • Laxmi J. Rao, IT Energy Coordinator, Information Services & Technology
  • William Van Schalkwyk, Managing Director, Environment, Health and Safety Programs


  • Carrie Brown, Building Technology
  • Max Parness, Energy Club
  • Alix de Monts, Undergraduate Association Sustainability Committee