External Advisory Board


This is what Obama just unveiled to boost solar

This is what Obama just unveiled to boost solar

The president is pushing a clean energy loan guarantee program, which helped electric car success story Tesla, but also failed solar company, Solyndra

August 25, 2015Read more

The External Advisory Board was established to help guide the Initiative and shape the MIT response to our energy imperatives. Comprised of high-level members from industry, NGOs, academia, and think tanks, and chaired by former Secretary of State George Shultz, the EAB provides high-level strategic direction for the initiative and reviews MIT's progress in energy fields.


Ahmad Al Khowaiter 
Chief Technology Officer, Saudi Aramco

Stephen D. Bechtel, Jr.
Chairman, SD Bechtel, Jr. Foundation and Stephen Bechtel Fund

Frances Beinecke
President, Natural Resources Defense Council

Roberto Casula
Chief Development, Operations, and Technology Officer, Eni S.p.A.

Arunas A. Chesonis
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Sweetwater Energy

Rafael del Pino
Chairman, Grupo Ferrovial SA

Susan Eisenhower
President, Eisenhower Group and Chairman Emeritus, Eisenhower Institute

Walter B. Hewlett
Chairman, The William and Flora Hewlett Foundation

Robert B. Millard
Managing Partner, Realm Partners LLC

Mario J. Molina
Professor, University of California, San Diego

Sam Nunn
Co-Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Nuclear Threat Initiative

John S. Reed
Chairman, MIT

Güler Sabanci
Chairman and Managing Director, Haci Omer Sabanci Holding AS

Arthur J. Samberg
Manager, Hawkes Financial Services LLC

Yuri Sebgregts
Chief Technology Officer, Royal Dutch Shell plc

Philip R. Sharp
President, Resources for the Future

George P. Shultz (Chair)
Thomas W. and Susan B. Ford Distinguished Fellow, Hoover Institution

Robert M. Solow
Institute Professor Emeritus, MIT

Thomas F. Stephenson
Partner, Sequoia Capital

Ratan N. Tata
Chairman, Tata Sons Limited

Ellen Williams*
Chief Scientist, BP, p.l.c.

Daniel Yergin
Vice Chairman, IHS Cambridge Energy Research Associates

* Replacement TBD