Education Task Force


Arriving at MIT, One Solution at a Time

Arriving at MIT, One Solution at a Time

Sixteen-year-old freshman Ahaan Rungta participated in MITEI's 2015 Energy Freshman Pre-Orientiation Program (FPOP)

October 7, 2015Read more

The Energy Education Task Force pursues the following goals with the support of the MITEI Education Office:

  • maintaining and enhancing the undergraduate Energy Studies Minor,
  • assessing and supporting further development of MIT's energy curriculum,
  • and communicating MIT's interdisciplinary energy education model.

Proposals: Energy-Focused Subjects

The Energy Education Task Force is working to develop a call for proposals for new or substantially revised energy-focused subjects from MIT faculty. Please email for further information.


  • Amy Glasmeier, Department of Urban Studies and Planning Department Head, Professor of Geography and Regional Planning
  • Jeffrey Grossman, Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Carl Richard Soderberg Associate Professor of Power Engineering


  • Jacopo Buongiorno, Associate Progessor of Nuclear Science and Engineering
  • William H. Green, Hoyt C. Hottel Professor of Chemical Engineering
  • Bradford Hager, Cecil and Ida Green Professor of Earth Sciences
  • Sheila Kennedy, Professor of the Practice, Architectural Design
  • Christopher Knittel, William Barton Rogers Professor of Energy Economics
  • Thomas Malone, Patrick J. McGovern Professor of Management
  • Rajeev Ram, Professor of Electrical Engineering
  • Evelyn Wang, Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering
  • Troy Van Voorhis, Professor of Chemistry
  • Christopher Warshaw, Assistant Professor of Political Science


  • Shreya Dave (G), Mechanical Engineering
  • Joseff Kolman (U), Political Science
  • Gianna Parella (U), Chemical Engineering