Energy Fellows, 2012–2013

Media Requests

For help finding a researcher or other requests, please contact:

Melissa Abraham
Communications Director




Interested in...


Newly tenured engineers

Newly tenured engineers

Thirteen tenure appointments are made in seven of eight academic departments in the School of Engineering

May 20, 2015Read more

This article appears in the Autumn 2012 issue of Energy Futures, the magazine of the MIT Energy Initiative. Subscribe today.

Nicola DeBlasio (right), vice president for R&D International Development, Eni, welcomes new Eni-MIT Energy Fellows at a reception in late August. Photo: Justin Knight

The Society of Energy Fellows at MIT welcomed about 60 new members in fall 2012. The Energy Fellows network now totals more than 250 graduate students and postdoctoral fellows and spans 20 MIT departments and divisions and all five MIT schools. This year’s fellowships are made possible through the generous support of 19 MITEI member companies.


  • Xueying Lu, Physics
  • Lisa Pawlowicz, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

Booz Allen Hamilton

  • Amy Rose, Engineering Systems Division


  • Eugene Cho, Materials Science and Engineering
  • Katherine Ong, Mechanical Engineering


  • Philip Arevalo, Biology
  • Kimberly Davis, Biology
  • Maxwell Kaplan, Biology/Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
  • Levi Lentz, Mechanical Engineering
  • Jennifer Lewis, Chemical Engineering
  • Wei Li, Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Yuval Tal, Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Sciences
  • Arthur Yip, Engineering Systems Division


  • David Bierman, Mechanical Engineering
  • Yo Seob Yoon, Chemistry


  • Alex Breckel, Engineering Systems Division


  • Sandra Jenkins, Engineering Systems Division


  • Jesse Jenkins, Engineering Systems Division
  • Brian Mayton, Media Arts and Sciences


  • Ashwini Bharatkumar, Engineering Systems Division
  • Michael Chen, Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Laura Cooper, Chemistry
  • Erik Duhaime, Management
  • Frank Fan, Materials Science and Engineering
  • Aaron Goodman, Chemistry
  • Matthew Klug, Mechanical Engineering
  • Andong Liu, Chemical Engineering
  • Harry Watson, Chemical Engineering
  • Zhulin Yu, Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Sciences


  • Ian McKay, Mechanical Engineering
  • Christopher Smith Urban Studies and Planning


  • Michael Davidson, Engineering Systems Division

Lockheed Martin

  • George Hansel, Aeronautics and Astronautics
  • Siping Wang, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

Saudi Aramco

  • Thanasak Sathitwitayakul, Chemistry
  • Siah Tan, Chemical Engineering


  • Franco Chingcuanco, Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Robin Deits, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science


  • Justin Chen, Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Nicholas Hagerty, Economics
  • Brett Lazarus, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
  • Daniel Leithinger Media Arts and Sciences
  • Junlun Li, Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Sciences
  • Yun Liu, PhD, Materials Science and Engineering
  • Shevarl MacNamara, PhD, Mathematics
  • Brian Solomon, Mechanical Engineering
  • Ira Winder, Urban Studies and Planning
  • Xiangyao Yu, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
  • Ahmad Zamanian, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science


  • Parnika Agrawal, Materials Science and Engineering
  • Nazar Lubchenko Nuclear Science and Engineering


  • Jialiang Chen, Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Elizabeth M-Y Lee, Chemical Engineering
  • Ketian Zhang, Political Science

United Technologies Corporation

  • Karine Chong, Mechanical Engineering
  • Goksin Kavlak, Engineering Systems Division


  • Michael Gibson, Materials Science and Engineering
  • Arvind Karunakaran, Management